Why did darth vader become evil?

Anikan Skywalker's metamorphis into Darth Vader occurred, first from his decision to embrace the dark side of the force in the false belief that it would give him power over death, and second, for becoming consumed by hatred after being defeated and horribly maimed in a duel against obi-wan kenobi.