How long does it take for a body to turn into a skeleton?

If a body is buried directly within the ground, it can take up to 8 to 10 years to decay into a skeleton. If buried in a casket, it can take 3 to 5 times as long depending on casket construction. A body out in the open or in water may become a skeleton in only a few months due to animal activity.