What is your thumb called?

What is a thumb called? A pollex. It is the short, thick first digit of the human hand and the primate hand and foot. It differs from other digits in having only two phalanges (tubular bones of the fingers and toes), and provides increased dexterity because it is opposable to tips of other digits.