How big is a black widow?

Black widow spiders are about the size of a US half-dollar, including the legs. They appear hard, black, and shiny with a large and rounded abdomen. The classic marking is a red hourglass shape, but the marks can be orange, white or tan and dots or spots, instead of the typical hourglass shape.