Do you have to have car service at a dealership?

The short answer is no, bit if you own a Tesla you must have it serviced at a Tesla dealership. All other car manufacturers share their information and can be repaired by a qualified repair shop. Some repair shops specialize in more expensive brands. A reputable shop can usually work on most cars.