What happens if you eat old potatoes?

Solanine is concentrated mostly on the skin or sprouts of potatoes. This natural toxin in food plants acts as a natural pesticide. Consuming bad potatoes can cause solanine poisoning. Symptoms include headaches, vomiting, fever, stomach cramps, and difficulty in breathing.