Why were pistachios red?

Pistachios are not naturally red. In the past, due to antiquated harvesting methods, nut shells were often left with ugly stains and splotches. Foreign pistachio producers dyed them a bright red color in an effort to hide the stains and make the nuts more appealing to consumers.