What year will the sun explode?

The Sun does not have enough mass to explode as a supernova. Instead the Sun is expected to turn into a red giant in about 5 billion years. As a red giant, the Sun will grow so large that it will engulf Mercury, Venus, and probably Earth. But that's very far into the future!

---

Beginning around 5 billion years from now, the Sun will expand, becoming a swollen star called a red giant. By 7.5 billion years in the future, its surface will be past where Earth's orbit is now. So the expanding Sun will engulf, and destroy, the Earth.