How long does it take for a monarch butterfly to hatch?

The process from egg to butterfly is weather dependent and also depends on the regional climate. It can take about four weeks in the peak of the summer in warmer climates. The egg takes 5 to 10 days, the larva or caterpillar and pupa or chrysalis each take about 10 to 14 days.