How much does a child have to weigh to sit in the front seat of a car?

It's generally accepted that a child should sit in the rear seat, in a car seat or booster, until they are at least 4' 9" tall. Typically they'll be 8 - 12 years old at this point and weigh over 80 pounds, but height is most important for proper seat belt fit.