Why is the golden gate bridge called the golden gate bridge?

The Bridge is actually named for the Golden Gate Strait, the narrow entrance between the Pacific Ocean and the San Francisco Bay. The strait was named by explorer and U.S. Army officer John C. Frémont, who marveled at its beauty in 1846—two years before the discovery of gold in Californi

---

Golden Gate Bridge is named after the Golden Gate Strait that runs beneath it. This narrow stretch of water below the bridge connects the Pacific Ocean on the west to San Francisco Bay on the east.