Why am i not supposed to wear white after labor day?

Wear what you like. This fashion rule came about in the late 1800s and early 1900s. Wearing white is cooler in the summer, however; once this rule came into effect, the higher social class could use this as a way to deem a person worthy of their notice. Paraphrased from Mental Floss.