How do you smart light bulbs work?

Smart lighting generally uses mesh networking, where each smart bulb wirelessly connects to its nearest neighbor. That network is controlled by a hub that plugs into your router, enabling your other networked devices - such as your phone or tablet - to communicate with your bulbs.