Where does the term zipperhead come from?

Historically, U.S. military personnel used the word to refer to non-Americans of various races. The earliest published example is dated 1920 and notes that U.S. Marines then in Haiti used the term to refer to Haitians. It acquired its current racial meaning as a result of the Vietnam War.