What is the biggest rat in the world?

There are several species of large rats, including the Large Bamboo Rat, which is approximately 19 inches and 8 pounds, the Mountain Giant Rat, which is approximately 23 inches and 1 pound, and the Gambian Pouched Rat, which is up to 36 inches and 3 pounds.

---

The Northern Luzon giant cloud rat (Phloeomys pallidus)is the biggest at up to 2.5 feet (75cm) long, weighing as much as 5.7 lb (2.6kg).