What is the difference between archaeology and paleontologist?

Archaeology and paleontology both study the ancient past through studying remains found in the earth. Archaeologists focus on human history through historic and prehistoric human remains and cultural artifacts. Paleontologists study prehistoric flora and fauna through study of the fossil record.