What's the chemical formula for oxide?

Many chemical compounds and some elements will combine with oxygen forming an "oxide." Carbondioxide is carbon to which two oxygen atoms have been attached. Ferric oxide is simple rust. Add oxygen to hydrogen and you get water. Titanium dioxide is use as pure white.