How hard does a great white shark bite?

Australian scientists say they've determined the bite force of a great white shark can reach about 1.8 tons, 20 times greater than a human's bite. University of New South Wales researchers said, by comparison, a large African lion can produce only about 1,235 pounds of bite force.