Do you use a magic eraser wet or dry?

Don't use them dry. Part of the magic of these erasers is that all you have to do is add water to activate them. However, it turns out that these plushy pads are even more abrasive—and can therefore, do more damage—when dry, so adding water actually helps soften them.