Are there otters in ohio?

Otters are native to Ohio but were extirpated by the early 1900s. In 1986, the Ohio Division of Wildlife began a seven-year project to reintroduce the species to the state. Since then, river otter presence has been confirmed in 75 watersheds throughout the state.