What started the iran iraq war?

Iran & Iraq each say the other started it. Open warfare began on September 22, 1980, when Iraqi armed forces invaded western Iran along the countries' joint border. Iraq, however, claimed that the war had begun earlier that month, on September 4, when Iran shelled several border posts.