Did benjamin franklin have a dog?

According to the Franklin Institute, there is documentation that Benjamin Franklin had at least two pets. In letters he wrote while in Paris, France, in 1778 and 1781, Franklin mentions a Newfoundland dog that belonged to his son, William.