What's the difference between a doctor and a p. a.?

Some of the differences include the fact that a doctor works autonomously while a physician assistant works in conjunction with a doctor and the fact that a doctor has a doctorate degree while a physician assistant has a master's degree. Doctors have a larger scope of practice than a PA.