What was the purpose of the boston tea party?

The Boston Tea Party was a protest over the Tea Act and the Townshend Acts. These acts reduced the price of tea, but defined who the colonist had to buy their tea from. The colonist opposed these acts on the basis that Parliament was passing laws while the colonist had no voice in Parliament.