What's reverse osmosis water?

Reverse osmosis is a water purification process that uses a partially permeable membrane to remove ions, unwanted molecules and larger particles from drinking water. Reverse osmosis differs from filtration in that the mechanism of fluid flow is by osmosis across a membrane.