How do you grow cocoa beans in minecraft?

You can plant cocoa beans on the side of jungle trees to grow cocoa plants, from which you can harvest more cocoa beans. As of the 1.3.1 release cocoa beans may be "planted" on the trunks of jungle trees. There they become a green pod that turns orange as it grows.