Are cats nearsighted or farsighted?

Cats seem nearsighted compared to humans. They see at 20 feet what we normally see at 100 to 200 feet. Cats have more rods & fewer cones in the retina of their eye, so they can't see the details that we do. But this arrangement lets them detect movement in very low light when hunting for small prey.

---

Nearsighted, but not close-sighted. Because their eyes are so large, cats can’t focus on anything less than a foot in front of them—but their whiskers can swing forward to feel what they can’t clearly see.