When do the cicadas come?

Cicadas frequently appear in the month of May, but can appear anytime between April and June. They emerge when the soil 8 inches down hits 64 degrees Fahrenheit. In their 13th or 17th year, the cicadas appear, typically in large numbers, and are active for only about 4 to 6 weeks.