Is purple lightning hotter than the sun?

well it depends on which part of the sun you are talking about lightning is about 20,000 °C (36,000 °F)

---

Yes, the answer is a bolt of lightning, which can reach temperatures of roughly 30,000 kelvins (53,540 degrees Fahrenheit). The sun, on the other hand, is eclipsed in this case - its surface temperature is just 6,000 kelvins (10,340 degrees Fahrenheit).