What's the difference between a fajita and a taco?

The word "fajita" is a reference to the type of meat being served (usually grilled skirt steak), while "taco" refers to how the food is served. Fajitas are always meat + peppers and onions. Tacos can contain almost any meat, plus fresh lettuce, tomatoes, and other raw vegetables on top