What does a branded car title mean?

Vehicle title branding is the use of a permanent designation on a vehicle's title, registration or permit documents to indicate that a vehicle has been written off due to collision, fire or flood damage or has been sold for scrap.

---

A branded car title means that the car has been in a flood or accident so severe that it has affected it's value.