What is the most expensive spice in the world?

Saffron is the most expensive spice in the world. Current wholesale prices range from $1000 to $5000 for a 1 kilogram, 2.2 lbs., of the spice. In retail sales it is typically sold by the gram and prices vary widely, depending on where the spice was grown. 170,000 flowers will yield 1lb of spice.