What is the law of syllogism?

The Law of Syllogism says that if two statements are true, If p, then q and if q, then r. Then we know a third truth: If p, then r. An example, if pasta is starch, then spaghetti is starch. If angel hair is thin spaghetti, then angel hair is pasta. So if pasta is a starch, then angel hair is starch.