How long does it take a seed to germinate?

Some seeds germinate quickly, e.g. cabbage, cress and lettuce only take a few days. Other varieties take 3-4 weeks. Of most vegetable garden crops, you will know after one to two weeks if anything is going to happen.

---

Anywhere between 7 and 14 days. It's best to start a seed on a wet paper towel and then stick said paper towel (and seed) inside of a ziploc bag. Works best if its kept in a warm place while it's germinating. Make sure you water it.