What is photo dynamic therapy?

Photodynamic therapy, is a form of phototherapy involving light and a photosensitizing chemical substance, used in conjunction with molecular oxygen to elicit cell death. PDT has proven ability to kill microbial cells, including bacteria, fungi and viruses. PDT is popularly used in treating acne.