What is a corvette?

A corvette is a small warship. It is traditionally the smallest class of vessel considered to be a proper warship. The warship class above the corvette is that of the frigate, while the class below was historically that of the sloop-of-war.

---

According to the Merriam Webster Dictionary, a corvette is 1: a warship ranking in the old sailing navies next below a frigate, 2: a highly maneuverable armed escort ship that is smaller than a destroyer. It is also a sports car produced by Chevrolet.