What is the difference between a sardine an anchovy?

Sardines, which can measure almost 8 inches in length, are larger than anchovies. They have white flesh and a slightly protruding lower jaw. Anchovies, on the other hand, are usually less than 6 inches long. They have dark, reddish-gray flesh.