What is the series in hockey?

The Stanley Cup playoffs is an elimination tournament in the National Hockey League, consisting of 4 rounds of best-of-7 series to determine the league champion and the winner of the Stanley Cup. 8 teams from each of the 2 conferences qualify for the playoffs based on regular season points totals.