Why are ringworms called ringworms?

Ringworm is a common skin infection that is caused by a fungus. It's called “ringworm” because it can cause a circular rash (shaped like a ring) that is usually red and itchy. Anyone can get ringworm.

---

They show up as red rings on your skin