Is a baby born every second?

The UNICEF estimates that an average of 353,000 babies are born each day around the world. The crude birth rate is 18.9 births per 1,000 population or 255 births globally per minute or 4.3 births every second (as of December 2013 estimate)

---

Currently there are about 250 babies born every minute – more than 130 million in a year. These numbers are on the rise because world population is increasing exponentially.