When did the united states go to war against germany?

The USA has gone to war with Germany twice. Firstly in WW1, as of April 2, 1917, when President Woodrow Wilson requested a declaration of war against Germany. Secondly in WW2 as of December 11, 1941, after Germany declared war on the USA, following the Pearl Harbour attack by their Japanese allies.