What's the difference between a hoagie and a sub?

Webster's Dictionary defines Hoagie as a large sandwich on a long crusty roll that is split lengthwise and filled with meats and cheese (and tomato and onion and lettuce and condiments); different names are used in different sections of the U. S., such as hero, grinder, and submarine.