What is the rarest moon event?

One of the rarest moon events is a Blue Moon, although it has nothing to do with color. There is normally one full moon each calendar month, but every 2 1/2 to 3 years there is a 13th full moon. That extra full moon is called a blue moon. The next blue moon will occur on August 19, 2024.