What is a tropical thunderstorm?

A tropical storm is a form of tropical cyclone that rotates with sustained windspeeds less than those of a Category 1 hurricane, or under 65 knots, 75 miles per hour, 120 kilimeters per hour.

---

A tropical storm is defined as a tropical cyclone, a category that also includes hurricanes, whose wind’s speeds are between 39 and 73 miles per hour.