How does a magnetic field work?

Magnetic fields​ describe how the magnetic force is distributed through space around objects. Generally, for an object that's magnetic, the magnetic field lines travel from the object's north pole to the south pole, just as they do for the Earth's magnetic field. PerSciencing.com