How do you earth quakes happen?

Earthquakes are caused by tectonic movements in the Earth's crust. The main cause is that when tectonic plates collide, one rides over the other, causing orogeny (mountain building), earthquakes and volcanoes. The boundaries between moving plates form the largest fault surfaces on Earth