What is a smithing table do in minecraft?

Smithing tables have a crafting recipe and can be used to smelt 1.5 items in a furnace. Smithing table can be crafted, but require experimental gameplay enabled. Crafting recipe for the smithing table is no longer behind Experimental Gameplay.