What is f. i. p. in baseball?

It means Fielding Independent Pitching. FIP converts a pitcher's three true outcomes into an earned run average-like number. The formula is (13*HR+3*(HBP+BB)-2*K)divided by IP, plus a constant (usually around 3.2) to put it on the same scale as earned run average.