When did blockbusters go out of business?

As of December 2019, the only remaining physical Blockbuster (a privately owned franchise) store in the entire world remains open in Bend, Oregon, colloquially known as the Last Blockbuster. The brand was retired in 2019. All non-franchises along with their mail service were closed in 2014.