Where do islands come from?

When the tops of the volcanoes appear above the water, an island is formed. While the volcano is still beneath the ocean surface, it is called a seamount. Oceanic islands can form from different types of volcanoes. ne type forms in subduction zones, where one tectonic plate is shifting under another

---

As volcanoes erupt, they build up layers of lava that may eventually break the water's surface. When the tops of the volcanoes appear above the water, an island is formed.